# Call for the "Bernard Roy Award of the EURO Working Group on Multiple Criteria Decision Aiding" (Bernard Roy Award of EWG MCDA)

## **Policy**

- The Bernard Roy Award of EWG MCDA is a recognition conferred to a researcher under 40 years old for an outstanding contribution to the methodology and/or applications of Multiple Criteria Decision Aiding (MCDA).
- The award will be officially bestowed at the opening session of the EWG 2019 Autumn meeting in Brest, France (<a href="https://mcda90.sciencesconf.org/">https://mcda90.sciencesconf.org/</a>), if there is a suitable candidate. In this case, following a presentation of the competition by the chair of the Jury, the laureate will be invited to give a talk.

#### **Award**

The laureate then will receive the financial award (1000 EUR) and the diploma.

## Eligibility

- The Bernard Roy Award of EWG MCDA shall be awarded for a body of work in MCDA, preferably published over the last decade. Although recent work will not be excluded, care shall be taken to allow the contribution to stand the test of time.
- The potential award recipient shall have a recognized stature in the MCDA community. Significance, innovation, depth, and scientific excellence shall be emphasized.

#### **Nominations**

- Candidates can be nominated by any three members of the EURO WG on MCDA.
- A candidature for the Bernard Roy Award of EWG MCDA is composed of the nomination letter along with a recent and detailed CV, up to 5 best publications, as well as a self-description of the achievements up to 3 page long in a standard manuscript format. The nominations must be send to the Jury chair by the due date of **July, 31**st **2019**.

## **Selection process**

- Only one award may be assigned on each occasion.
- One person may receive the award at most once in her/his lifetime.
- The jury evaluates the nominees essentially on the basis of their scientific activities (papers in top journals, editorials, relevance of methodological proposals and/or applications...).

## Jury

The jury for the current edition is composed of Professors Irène Abi-Zeid, Nuria Agell, José Rui Figueira (chair), Benedetto Matarazzo, and Yannis Siskos.

#### Timing

- Deadline for nominations: July, 31st 2019
- The Jury chair informs the EWG coordinators who invite the laureate to the meeting: August 31<sup>st</sup> 2019.
- Preparation of the diploma by the EWG coordinators. Presentation of the laureate and her/his talk during the EURO WG on MCDA Autumn meeting. An electronic copy of the laureate's presentation handed over to the EWG coordinators will be made available on the EWG on MCDA Web Site.

Applications should be sent to José Rui Figueira at figueira@tecnico.ulisboa.pt